2013 Presentation


G Preece and son Clayton 1st Open Perpignan International

John Chipperfield and son 1st Open Pau International

Mark Gilbert 1st Open Barcelona and 1st Open Marseille with Elaine Reid Carol and John

Charlie Simmons 1st Open Agen International

Brian and Anthony Williams 1st Open Guernsey 2 YB's with secreary Carol and president John Tyerman

D Grant 1st Open Guernsey 1 OH's

Dudley Holmes 1st Open Le Mans

Sue Gore of Howard and Gore 1st Open Guernsey1 YB's

Dave and Vince Padfield winners of Jim Emerton Trophy Longest Flying Bird in race time from Barcelona

John and David Staddon 1st Open Carentan

John Fretwell winner of 1st Open Guernsey 2 OH's

L J Fry and Phil Hodinott 1st Open Alencon

N and P Coleman 1st Open Tours

Jan Deacon and daughter Carol on Jans left and friend Chris who flew in from the USA to attend the presentation

The annual dinner and prize presentation of one of the UK’s most prestigious racing organisations took place at the Queen’s Hotel & Spa in Bournemouth on the weekend of 9th -10th of February. No doubt due to the success of earlier presentation evenings and “word having got round” this year’s event was sold out months ago. The venue has a 150 seat capacity and some unlucky members were unable to attend and enjoy the festivities as they were too late placing their orders for tickets. As a result of this great popularity we may have to look for an alternative venue with a greater seating capacity for next year, especially in view of the fact that applications from prospective new members are arriving daily.

We travelled down to Bournemouth in the company of Ray and Marie Strawbridge and after an uneventful 2 ½ hour journey pulled up outside the hotel. Throughout the afternoon and evening revellers continued to arrive at the Queens from all over England and Wales. The atmosphere once again was that of a large family gathering and I’m sure the hotel’s management were pleased with the enthusiastic and protracted trade going on in the bar. My wife Judy and I ate in the hotel’s restaurant on the Friday night and enjoyed a lovely three course meal for just £15 per head. The meal on the Saturday night was of a similar high standard and everyone I spoke to was full of praise for the standard of the dinner.

There was a committee meeting called for the Saturday morning and then it was just a case of watching the rugby before getting ready for the night’s festivities to begin.

President John Tyerman, began by welcoming all the members and families. John kept his speech short and to the point, emphasising the fact that the club is moving forward in leaps and bounds with an expanding membership, a very healthy bank balance and  new transporters for use for the first time in 2013. He thanked all those who work so hard behind the scenes to ensure the smooth running of the club and Russell Bradford and Carol Francis came in for special praise in this respect. Jan and Albie Deacon were also given a rousing round of applause for all their unstinting work for the club including organising the presentation weekend.

Following the excellent 5 course meal the presentation of the prizes for the 2012 season was quickly underway and although it was a little protracted, appropriate recognition was given to the race winners and those who had won the major trophies.

Listed here are the major race and trophy winners:-


 Brian Long Trophy for Winner of the First OB race –

 John & David Staddon 1st Falaise 1.

Brian Long Trophy for winner of second OB race-

Steve & Lee Luscombe  Falaise 2.

Brian Long Trophy winner of 3rd OB race –

L J Fry  Alencon

Mark Kidby Memorial Trophy L J Fry 1st Alencon.

Brian Long Trophy for winner of 4th OB race –

N & P Coleman  1st Tours.

Barry Corbin  Trophy for winner of longest National race[1st Tours]-

N & P Coleman.

 Violet Wills Trophy for winner of YB race-

Howard & Gore 1st YB National Guernsey1.

Keith Davis Memorial Cup for 1st Young Bird into Berkshire

Mark Gilbert.

Brian Long Trophy for winner of 5th OB race-

Dudley Holmes 1st Le Mans .

BICC Special Trophy D Grant Guernsey OH’s.

BICC Special Trophy – B Williams & son 1st Guernsey 2 YB’s.

BICC Special Trophy – John Fretwell 1st Guernsey 2 OH’s.



  F Brooks Trophy & BICC Rose Bowl – John Chipperfield 1st Pau International and 2 Bird Ave.

Mark Gilbert Trophy 1st Open Agen International – C Simmons.

 Geoff Hunt & Son Cup & Mr & Mrs Bunney Cup 1st Open Barcelona International and 1st Bird in Centre section Barcelona – Mark Gilbert.

Frans Van Den Heuval Cup 2 Bird Average Barcelona – Ray Hammond.

Jim Emerton Trophy Furthest Flying Bird in race time Barcelona – Padfield Family.

BICC Cup Agen [Tarbes] – D Abbott.

Brian Long Memorial Cup, Highest Position in an International race – D Abbott.

Channel Queen Trophy, Highest Position by a Hen in an International race – R Pearmain & Son.

P Rigiani Memorial Cup, 2 Bird Ave Agen /Tarbes – R Pearmain & Son.

K Brakes Cup 1st centre section Agen / Tarbes  - John Wills.

F Roberts Trophy 1st Open Marseille – Mark Gilbert.

BICC Cup 2 Bird Ave Marseille – F Knowles & son.

F A Branner Trophy & K Couch Trophy 1st Open Perpignan – G Preece & son.

A & T Deacon Trophy 2 Bird Ave  Perpignan – Mark Gilbert.

S G Biss Points cup for Highest Points in all International Races – Mark Gilbert.

Europa Trophy, Best Ave All International Races – Mark Gilbert.

Europa Cup , Best Ave Pau & Perpignan Internationals – G Preece & son.

 J & R Wills Cup, Best Ave Pau & Perpignan – G Preece & son.

Bewes trophy, Best Ave Pau & Barcelona Internationals – Mark Gilbert.

Wrights cup Best Ave Pau & Agen/Tarbes – John Chipperfield.


As can be seen from the above list one name in particular is repeated with monotonous regularity- that of the Winkfield Wizard Mark Gilbert. Mark had yet another truly outstanding season at National and International level and must now rank alongside the finest fanciers in Europe. It was good to see Mark’s father Geoff at the dinner accompanying his son.

Another partnership that enjoyed an outstandingly successful season was that of Geoff and Catherine Cooper who topped the west section on no less than five occasions.

The Welsh contingent also did well with Dave and Vince Padfield winning the Jim Emerton trophy for furthest flying bird in race time from Barcelona and the Ystradgynlais partnership of Bryan and Anthony Williams winning their second BICC race in the past two seasons with 1st Open Guernsey2 YB’s.

 The array of trophies that are open for competition within the club are really outstanding as the accompanying photograph will clearly demonstrate.

 The 2013 season will see Irish fanciers able to compete for these magnificent trophies for the first time as the club radius has now been extended to include all of Ireland. All we need now is for some intrepid fanciers to join us from across the border in Scotland and we will have a truly united association of Nations.

 Following the presentation the night’s dancing got underway and everyone seemed to be having a great time despite the almost sauna conditions within the hall. My thanks to my son in law Tim Burt for taking the photographs that accompany this report.

 On a personal note, it was good to meet up with so many fanciers who I had previously only spoken to over the phone or contacted via e mail. All too soon it was time to make our way back to Wales after enjoying

yet another great weekend spent in great company roll on next year!

                                              Gareth Watkins